Dilemma...One Day, Two Parks...Which One?

MaryAnnDVC

"Mare", DISing since '99; prefers being tagless
I'm new to the Disneyland Board; we've been to WDW 3 times in the last 4 years (and just bought DVC :D ), but a few days ago booked a trip for me and our 3 kids to visit my sister in Long Beach, CA, in June (DH is staying home).

I went to Disneyland once, 12 years ago, when my oldest was 10 months old.

The thing is...we're going for a week, and I don't think I want to spend more than one day doing Disney. My sister will be working 1/2 days and doesn't like DL :eek: anyway , so I figured we take a one day break from each other ;) and I'd go alone with the kids. Besides, there are so many other things I'd like to do while I'm there (relaxing a bit being one of them).

But, which park should we do?

I kind of feel like we SHOULD do the original park (are they calling the two of them grouped together something?...like Universal Studios and IOA together are called "Universal Escape"?) because I feel like my kids should see Disneyland at least once in their youth. But, having been to WDW (and going for the next 41 years), it's California Adventure that's new and different.

My kids are DD#1 (almost 13), DD#2 (10 1/2), and DS (8). He tends to be a little cowardly about rides. Actually they all can be at times. Me too. :rolleyes:

Would welcome your opinions. :)

I think I would do Disneyland if I were only going to do one park and only one day. There seems to be more rides and attractions at DL. Now when we go to Disneyland we usually plan at least two days at DL and usually plan more days. I am a love of DL and we will be out in July to go to DL and since they built the new park we will stop by there too. Have a great time!

:) BAS