Why DVC?

candleonwater

The Tag Fairy has been around forever
As an accountant I'm having problems seeing any pros to buying into this... so I figure you all can help.

1) Do not look at it as an investment - look at it as a prepaid vacation.

2) Depending on your accomodation requirements, it might not be right for you. If you're happy to stay offsite in an inexpensive hotel room, then DVC might not be what you're after.

3) Consider DVC if mainly you want to stay at DVC resorts (WDW, HHI or VB) and the occasional trade or cruise. If you are looking at DVC to use primarily for trading to other resorts around the US/World, then there are many cheaper timeshares available for purchase that trade as good or better than DVC (especially since DVC limits your accessability to external trades handled thru Intervals International).

I think for us the idea of the pre-paid vacation and forcing us to vacation was what really tipped the balance. Yes, it's expensive, but the memories we have from the family vacations so far, and the memories we'll have from the vacations yet to come are priceless.

An expansion on point #2:

If you have a family large enough to want (or require) suite type accomodations and want to stay on site, you will have very limited options outside of DVC - and most of them are expensive. Many families with children (especially teens) that routinely visit Disney love the idea of staying in a two bedroom unit - where they and their children are not on top of one another in a standard hotel room.

I figure with a 6 yo DD - I'll be going to WDW on a regular basis for a while. BUT with what DVC costs... I could invest the same money and still have my vacations. That's one of the reasons I don't think DVC is for me, also the fact that I like to try different resorts... etc... I guess I was just more curious to see why others do buy in.