If you could retire early...

CdnCarrie

DIS Veteran
I have a good friend who is retiring early at 53 along with her spouse. I'm around the same age and so not ready for this (my kids are much younger...).
Since they are a really introverted couple and claim they can't travel much due to retiring early I don't really see what they will do with their time.

Would you have retired early if you were able to? Personally I wouldn't (even if I could) as I'm still liking the structure of a daily routine. I'm lucky to have lots of vacation time and love my job. I will retire between ages of 60-62. But 53 just seems so early. And they are moving to a retirement setting which to me I'm so not there yet but each to their own I guess. I support her either which way as long as she's happy.

I already did at 51. But I still work a lot. I am a retired teacher. I spent a year being a full time mom to my senior son. Then I started doing long term sub jobs. So I guess I’m not fully retired yet but my situation allows me to decide when I want to work. I hope to scale back after this year but we will see. I feel like I’m finally making good money with my pension and extra pay.

My mother in law retired pretty early. Just after 50 I think. Father in law was 56. They are busy all the time and never stop. Renovations, volunteering, gardening, church activities, kayaking, fixing up the cottage, cooking and baking, hosting, travelling, spending time with family. You name it , my in-laws do it. They are self driven and provide their own structure. They also have a GM and a government pension so all those option were available to them.