Desperate help needed fixing costume!

tinkamom

<font color=purple>BL II - Purple Team<br><font co
Help! I'm leaving for WDW in two days and my DD's belle dress needs to be "fixed"! The bottom of the dress does not flare out unless she twirls around! When she stands still the bottom of the dress acutally goes inward kind of like a mermaids tail! Does anyone have any ideas of how I can keep the bottom of the dress puffed out? I am a novice sewer so I'm looking for a quick and easy solution.
Thank you
Deb

How are you transporting it to WDW? Is it going in a garment bag? Or will it be folded in half lengthwise? The reason I ask....

The quickest easiest thing I can think of would be to put a length of very fine wire through the hem - think ribbon! The only problem would be once you fold it, the wire will want to bend there again.

Unless you can find wire on a round (not flat!) spool of some kind! Then maybe you could open a slit in the hem & check out how it works at home, but not thread it through until you get there??

Thanks for replying, I was thinking of something like that, maybe attaching the wire with velcro? There is no real hem but the dress is "gathered" vertically
http://www.stage-fright.com/beautbeasadb.html

The dress does not hang like the picture! I'm trying to make it look like the picture!

OK - That's not the kind of dress I was thinking of. Hmmm....How old is she? Can you find a "crinoline" (sp??) slip to wear under it? I have no idea how you'd attach wire with velcro. :confused3

DD is 12 but is adult sized, she's 5'2" and chubby! I was so dissapointed in the dress and it was not cheap! DD loves it though! I'm going to go to Joanns and AC more today and see if anyone has any advise. A crinolin would probably work but I don't think they make them in her size!

I was also going to suggest some type of puffy slip - do you sew at all? I can't imagine it would be too difficult to make at all.