• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Corey Click Here

Recession Planning

RamblingMad

I'm an 80s kid too.
I’ve been working on recession plans at work off and on since 2016. And I have been shoring up my own finances as much as possible. Of course, stuff will break in my home that I cannot completely anticipate.

What are your household plans for a future recession?

Interesting thread / topic. Maybe I have my head in the sand but we don’t have a plan. We live within our means, avoid debt, and put money away in savings. I guess that’s our ‘plan’ :confused3
Same here. And I've been through a few recessions.

Have a fully funded emergency fund and no debt outside of our mortgage. We already live well within our means, so if there was a financial crisis where we had to really watch our spending, I don't think it would be too hard.

I lived through the last two. My plan now versus than is to have more liquidity. I had the three months of salary as recommended in the last two.

Now, I’m far more liquid. My plan now is to have less exposure to risk assets. My big concern is the Powell Put. I didn’t like what happened with Greenspan when he stopped raising rates, nor did I like what happened when Bernake did the same. I have no idea why Powell stopped.

The other change I’m making is to pull back my spending. I do save 20-30%. But I’m less likely to buy big ticket items going forward unless I really have to.

Funny enough, the recession years tend to be my larger spending years. It's when I plan the Florida Disney trip and replace the "would be nice to replace car", since deals tend to be unbeatable during recessions for both types of items.