Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwich?

Keegansmommy

Mouseketeer
If I make a packed lunch for my kids, can I put jelly on their sandwich of will this be confiscated as a liquid? Do I need to include the sandwich in their quart size baggie? I've never done this before but want to pack a lunch for them to eat during our layover. I'm thinking of getting a few jelly packets and putting in their baggie, but if I can make it ahead of time, why make more work for myself?

We have flown at least once a year with our kids, but I've never thought about jelly before.

Peanut butter and jelly are both fine as long as they are on a sandwich. If you pack them separately, they will need to go into the 3-1-1 bag.

A word of caution, though: there is always a possibility that someone on the flight could have a severe peanut allergy. If that's the case, the flight attendants will everyone to not eat peanut products on the plane. It doesn't happen often, but it does happen. You might want to have a back-up plan just in case.

PB& J sandwich is fine in a sandwich but otherwise -both the peanut butter and or jelly would have to be under 3oz and in the 3-1-1 bag.

Same with cream cheese and bagel for example, on the bagel fine, on its own its a gel = baggie!

I always pack a breakfast/lunch when traveling but I avoid peanut butter in case there is an allergic passeger. Use frozen carrots or grapes as and ice pack and your set. Purchase drinks after security and add them to the soft sided cooler and your set for the flight.

Peanut butter and jelly are both fine as long as they are on a sandwich. If you pack them separately, they will need to go into the 3-1-1 bag.

A word of caution, though: there is always a possibility that someone on the flight could have a severe peanut allergy. If that's the case, the flight attendants will everyone to not eat peanut products on the plane. It doesn't happen often, but it does happen. You might want to have a back-up plan just in case.