Do you put TSA approved locks on your luggage?

Yes, I don't want the zippers in it to open. One time I saw a bag literally spilling it's contents on the pickup carrousel. Plus I have seen airport luggage handlers drop baby carries to the floor even when they are supposed to be careful. The less chance my bag has of opening up the better.
This!!!! We use the tsa locks, but really just to make sure our suitcases stay closed. We also once saw a suitcase come down the chute to the carousel, opening up, and clothes spilling out. I felt so bad for whoever owned the bag, as their clothes and open suitcase went around & around.

I’ve never locked our luggage and I’ve been traveling for 50 years. I carry any valuables with us.
Same. I don't think I've locked a suitcase in 30 years. But our suitcases are pretty much just clothes, maybe some snacks for the room if it's Disney. Anything personal or valuable goes in a carryon.

I will never understand why people put valuables in checked luggage. Everything (medication, pictures, keys, etc) that would be awful to lose goes carryon.

We also use packing cubes for everything we pack, so it's super easy to switch the small cubes out if one bag is overweight. Sometimes I even pack an empty light duffel bag for just in case.

Never bothered to lock my luggage and not had any issues. The soft-sided type I have would probably be fairly easy to cut open using any type of knife so I don't see any point in locking. Once my luggage has been checked it is in the secured area of the airport. While things can happen, I would assume most who have access to my checked luggage also have some sort of security clearance provided by the airport. I also never put cash/valuables in the luggage and always carry those things with me.