Aulani advice

BLTtinkerbell

DIS Veteran
Hello:
I have never stayed at Aulani and my family is thinking June 2022 would be an awesome time to try it. We own at BLT and usually stay there or at 7 months out try to switch to another DVC at WDW. While we love the parks, we are thinking Hawaii could be a nice change for us. We have been on DCL before and enjoyed the Disney theming while relaxing on the cruise.

How difficult would it be to book a two bedroom or GV at 7 months out?

Advice on room view categories?

We would want to explore offsite a bit, in addition to relaxing/exploring Aulani Resort. What are your suggestions for total newbies?

Our children and their significant others are all in their 20’s. No small children, just adults.

When looking at the points charts, our nights would be in two different categories, based on the dates. How does that work?

We are traveling from the east coast. Do you recommend 7 nights at Aulani?

Thank you for any advice.

Depending on what time of year you are going. The 2 bedrooms should be OK to book, but I would book that day that it opens up. We would rather stay longer then have a view, but we do like the Island garden view. Aulani is amazingly beautiful, as is the whole Island. Our last stay was 16 nights and it was not enough. Rent a car for your stay(rent early) and go out and about to explore. I would figure out what your family wants to do on their Hawaiian vacation and go from there. There are a ton of websites that have "must dos" for Oahu.

Itinerary advice for newbies:
1. adventure tour at Koala https://www.kualoa.com
2. Pearl Harbor
3. Shave ice at motsumoto's
4. Drive along the north shore and pull off at waysides and get out and watch the surfers
5. Luau (we did the one at Aulani and loved it)