Anyone have a Kindle?

Miscoehill

Mouseketeer
My birthday is this weekend and the DH wants to get me an IPAD, but I'm thinking Kindle. Does anyone have a kindle? How do u like it/not like it?

Though I love my kindle I probably would get the iPad if given a choice between the two. I would suggest go to the Apple store and read on the iPad then go to a Barnes and Noble and read on the Nook and compare.

Though I love my kindle I probably would get the iPad if given a choice between the two. I would suggest go to the Apple store and read on the iPad then go to a Barnes and Noble and read on the Nook and compare.

There is a huge difference in how they display the words. The IPad is like a computer monitor and the Kindle is like a book. The Kindle writes the words and then the screen goes off. It is like reading a book page. Very easy on the eye.

I love my Kindle - got it for mother's day last year. I use it for more than just books, though. I am a writer and am able to copy *.txt files to proofread and make comments.
However, with all its bells and whistles, I secretly desire an Ipad.
The kindle does have internet but it is slow and clunkly. But I will use that limited (free) connection to take my accounting final while in Disney next month.
There is no color so not suitable for photos.
But it is a heck of a lot cheaper if all you want to do is read.
My Kindles goes everywhere and despite being loaded with at 100 books, is not even a tenth full.
Amazon usually has 2-6 titles free every week. I rarely buy books for it unless it those I will read again and again. People know to get me amazon gift cards for holidays just for this purpose. I still borrow from the library, but now that I will be out-of-doors for spring & summer (esp Disney and other trips) the Kindle will become my prime reading resourse.
Good luck with your decision and ask me questions if you like.