Disney Skyliner (Gondola Transportation System) Read Post 1 Now Open!

Friendly Frog

DIS veteran with a mouse on her back.
Joined
Jul 31, 2005
Seems to take away some of the advantage of staying at a skyliner resort.
Disney promises transportation to the parks which it offers. It does not and has never that I'm aware promised that ALL transportation options are available during park hours. It's known that buses are available early to late and the others during specific times.

If the hours don't work for people, there are options to stay at other resorts for less $$ if they wish. If guests want to stay at higher $$ resorts, it's with the understanding that bus service is available from early to late and the other options during specific times.
 

Anthony Vito

Mouseketeer
Joined
Jan 16, 2017
I think that, ultimately, they can't meet the demand for RotR each day, so they aren't concerned with getting people at the gates for RD efficiently. If RotR is moved to the FP system I would imagine that they will start the skyliner in time to get people there for RD. At that point, at least a handful of people will be guaranteed the chance to ride it & the need to get there at 5:30 am will be lessened.
That may be true, but they should be concerned about their resort guests, particularly those staying at their new, important hotel, and accommodating those prices.
 

Anthony Vito

Mouseketeer
Joined
Jan 16, 2017
Disney promises transportation to the parks which it offers. It does not and has never that I'm aware promised that ALL transportation options are available during park hours. It's known that buses are available early to late and the others during specific times.

If the hours don't work for people, there are options to stay at other resorts for less $$ if they wish. If guests want to stay at higher $$ resorts, it's with the understanding that bus service is available from early to late and the other options during specific times.
I disagree on this. These resorts are not presented as bus-service parks with a sometimes-added-bonus of other transportation. The transportation is one of the main reasons they can justify the higher money for those resorts. Presenting it that guests paying even greater-inflated rates should go to cheaper resorts or pay the higher rates with the understanding they will be limited to using the advantageous (and advertised) transportation only during the middle of the day is honestly a bit insulting. Moreover, when looking at those hotels on WDW's page and they are touted with that transportation, that is not at all how they are presented.

The Epcot monorail is not the best example either, since that's due to needed repairs and they are trying to limit it to times that are not as high demand mornings.

When transportation is unavailable due to problems or weather, that is one thing. Choosing to simply make it unavailable for park open is nearly infuriating.
 
  • ENJDisneyFan

    DIS Veteran
    Joined
    Mar 4, 2016
    When transportation is unavailable due to problems or weather, that is one thing. Choosing to simply make it unavailable for park open is nearly infuriating.
    Couldn’t agree more! No one would accept buses not running early enough for park opening, I’m not sure why skyliner should be any different. Especially when they’re now advertising it as a major perk for those resorts.
     

    mikegood2

    DIS Veteran
    Joined
    Jan 5, 2011
    OK, I think I’m officially starting to hit that point in researching where you think you’ve got a good understanding on how something works and then you read something that confuses you and makes you question what you’ve learned. :rotfl:

    We will be staying at the POP Century in July. If we want to go from the POP to Hollywood Studios we will need to get off at Caribbean Bech and transfer to the line that goes to Hollywood Studios, correct? I was just reading an article that said ”If you are going to Hollywood Studios from here (POP/AoA), you will not be required to exit at the Caribbean Beach station, you can continue right on to Hollywood Studios. If you are going to Epcot or the Riviera Resort you will need to transfer at the Caribbean Beach station.” That’s not true is it?

    Also, since I’m somewhat confused now, I just wanted to verify that when going from POP to Epcot, you DO have to transfer to the Line from CBR station to the Epcot line, but when you get to the Riviera Station, you can just stay on and continue going to Epcot, right?
     

    Pyotr

    Mouseketeer
    Joined
    Jun 17, 2018
    OK, I think I’m officially starting to hit that point in researching where you think you’ve got a good understanding on how something works and then you read something that confuses you and makes you question what you’ve learned. :rotfl:

    We will be staying at the POP Century in July. If we want to go from the POP to Hollywood Studios we will need to get off at Caribbean Bech and transfer to the line that goes to Hollywood Studios, correct? I was just reading an article that said ”If you are going to Hollywood Studios from here (POP/AoA), you will not be required to exit at the Caribbean Beach station, you can continue right on to Hollywood Studios. If you are going to Epcot or the Riviera Resort you will need to transfer at the Caribbean Beach station.” That’s not true is it?

    Also, since I’m somewhat confused now, I just wanted to verify that when going from POP to Epcot, you DO have to transfer to the Line from CBR station to the Epcot line, but when you get to the Riviera Station, you can just stay on and continue going to Epcot, right?
    Yes.

    From Pop you have to get off at CBR and transfer. If traveling from CBR to Epcot, you can stay on at Riviera station.
     

    Mome Rath

    3 Decade Disney Traveler
    Joined
    Mar 13, 2014
    OK, I think I’m officially starting to hit that point in researching where you think you’ve got a good understanding on how something works and then you read something that confuses you and makes you question what you’ve learned. :rotfl:

    We will be staying at the POP Century in July. If we want to go from the POP to Hollywood Studios we will need to get off at Caribbean Bech and transfer to the line that goes to Hollywood Studios, correct? I was just reading an article that said ”If you are going to Hollywood Studios from here (POP/AoA), you will not be required to exit at the Caribbean Beach station, you can continue right on to Hollywood Studios. If you are going to Epcot or the Riviera Resort you will need to transfer at the Caribbean Beach station.” That’s not true is it?

    Also, since I’m somewhat confused now, I just wanted to verify that when going from POP to Epcot, you DO have to transfer to the Line from CBR station to the Epcot line, but when you get to the Riviera Station, you can just stay on and continue going to Epcot, right?
    Ok, to clarify think of CBR as the hub. You have to get off the line at CBR and transfer to your next line (the only exception is Riviera to EPCOT). So, if you are going to a park from Pop, you have to get out of the Skyliner at the hub and switch to whichever line you want.

    There are 3 lines to the Skyliner; the AoA/Pop line, The Studios line, and the Riviera/EPCOT line. Those are 3 separate lines all running to the CBR hub.
     
  • Orionreplay

    Mouseketeer
    Joined
    Nov 21, 2019
    OK, I think I’m officially starting to hit that point in researching where you think you’ve got a good understanding on how something works and then you read something that confuses you and makes you question what you’ve learned. :rotfl:

    We will be staying at the POP Century in July. If we want to go from the POP to Hollywood Studios we will need to get off at Caribbean Bech and transfer to the line that goes to Hollywood Studios, correct? I was just reading an article that said ”If you are going to Hollywood Studios from here (POP/AoA), you will not be required to exit at the Caribbean Beach station, you can continue right on to Hollywood Studios. If you are going to Epcot or the Riviera Resort you will need to transfer at the Caribbean Beach station.” That’s not true is it?

    Also, since I’m somewhat confused now, I just wanted to verify that when going from POP to Epcot, you DO have to transfer to the Line from CBR station to the Epcot line, but when you get to the Riviera Station, you can just stay on and continue going to Epcot, right?
    Yes CBR station is where all the current lines come into. It is the hub with spokes. Pop/AoA to CBR. Epcot to CBR. HS to CBR.

    Exiting your Pop/AoA ride, you find yourself in an large open area with Information in the center, you go left for HS gondolas and right for Epcot gondolas. You can also do what we got accustomed to doing as well in the morning: exit the CBR hub all together, go down the ramp to the grass and sidewalks, visit the Joffrey's for goodies, and then go right back into the CBR hub for continuing to your destination. Loved traveling to Epcot with coffee and pastry.
     

    mikegood2

    DIS Veteran
    Joined
    Jan 5, 2011
    Ok, to clarify think of CBR as the hub. You have to get off the line at CBR and transfer to your next line (the only exception is Riviera to EPCOT). So, if you are going to a park from Pop, you have to get out of the Skyliner at the hub and switch to whichever line you want.

    There are 3 lines to the Skyliner; the AoA/Pop line, The Studios line, and the Riviera/EPCOT line. Those are 3 separate lines all running to the CBR hub.
    Yes CBR station is where all the current lines come into. It is the hub with spokes. Pop/AoA to CBR. Epcot to CBR. HS to CBR.

    Exiting your Pop/AoA ride, you find yourself in an large open area with Information in the center, you go left for HS gondolas and right for Epcot gondolas. You can also do what we got accustomed to doing as well in the morning: exit the CBR hub all together, go down the ramp to the grass and sidewalks, visit the Joffrey's for goodies, and then go right back into the CBR hub for continuing to your destination. Loved traveling to Epcot with coffee and pastry.
    Thanks! I knew that was the case, but since it was a very long, detailed and informative blog post that was recently updated it made me question if maybe they recently changed something and I missed it. The funny thing is in the comments section the author responded to a few posters and gave the right answer that you did have to get off.

    @Orionreplay Yeah, I did see that they had a Joffrey's close to the CBR station and may need to give it a try. Already planning on occasionally bringing my refillable mug and walking to Spyglass Grill to fill it up with the Coke Freestyle machines. Also planning on doing the same at Riviera resorts Primo Piatto since it looks closer and is open later for a much needed Dr. Pepper fix. 😆
     

    Connect

    Disney News and Updates

    Get Daily Email Updates


    Top