Your Memories From 9/11

Saphire

DIS Veteran
I remember being at work and feeling frantic... I just wanted to go home and gather my family around me. I worked in a hospital and we had to stay to receive patients being bumped to Boston so they could clear NY hospitals for the injured. As the hours ticked by, we discovered none of that would be necessary. :sad1:

I remember having problems with insomnia for the first time in my life. I would wake in the night and turn on the radio to hear if anything else had happened.

I recall walking in public, at the market, at the bank, and looking at people. In that brief glance, we shared the same grief.

My respect, gratitude and awe grew for the people who work in the military, police, fire and other service professions.

These are just some of my recollections, I would like to hear yours.

I remember being woken up to watch it on CNN. I think I started watching just after the second tower was hit.

I remember being a little nervous about having to go out to do errands that day but mostly because I wanted to stay informed.

I also remember thinking I'm glad that won't happen here. Yes, technically it can happen anywhere but in reality, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada probably isn't a major target. We are the centre of Canada (sorry Toronto lol) so a route for trucks and trains to get through but I don't think screwing up Canada's grain transport is a major priority. Maybe that's being naive but I'm glad I have that luxury.

I will be glued to my tv tomorrow watching all the specials.

I was at work at the time. When a plane hit the first tower, my coworkers and I ran to the only TV in our office to watch the news. Then when a plane hit the second tower, it was even more shocking. I was pretty much glued to the news for a long time. I felt a lot of sympathy for the family members of those who died.