Windows Vista?

JohnnySharp2

No man stands as tall as when he stoops to help a
Hello all,

Anybody have this on their home pc/laptop?

Currently have windows xp but have been thinking of upgrading to a new pc for a while now due to a few minor niggles with our current one.

Any feedback good or bad appreciated.

Hi Johnny,

I've been running Vista on one of my laptops for about 6 months now and I really like it. I can't say I have had many problems although at the time I thought configuring the wireless networking was a bit more convoluted than XP - but that just may have been due to unfamiliarity :blush: On a more advanced topic I do some development that means I need to run IIS and this is certainly a lot different on Vista as it will be on Windows Server 2008 but I suspect that doesn't matter to you.

Generally I know there are some applications that still don't run properly on Vista and some manufacturers still haven't released compatible device drivers for some peripherals so it would probably be wise just to check that everything you want to run is capable of being run ov Vista before you go ahead and buy.

If I was buying a new machine today I would definitely go for a Vista one over an XP one though.

Hope that helps. :)

hello johnny baby, how you doin? (said in Joey Tribbiani stylee)
I have vista on my laptop and its great, took me ages to get it all set up, there does seem to be firewalls blocking everything, even my broadband supplier (tescos) said they weren't configured to run with vista but I fiddled an diddled and got it working.
(not bad for a dumb blonde!)

Fine thanks babe - you?

As Alan says and I had heard also a lot of applications don't run that well on vista yet.

Think we are overdue a new spec as often some of the online games I play freeze etc
Disboards access is fine though!

Hi Johnny.