Started Training Too Early!!

The Orange Bird

Life Finds a Way!
Hey everyone, so in my excitement to start training for my first RunDisney event, the Star Wars Virtual Half Marathon in 2020, I started training last week. When I did the math for the 19 week training schedule just now, I realized that I started about 4 weeks too soon. So my question is, should I stop the training and wait, or is there a way of modifying it so I can extend it another 4 weeks. I'd like to do the run on January 4th. Thanks in advance for your advice.

Hey everyone, so in my excitement to start training for my first RunDisney event, the Star Wars Virtual Half Marathon in 2020, I started training last week. When I did the math for the 19 week training schedule just now, I realized that I started about 4 weeks too soon. So my question is, should I stop the training and wait, or is there a way of modifying it so I can extend it another 4 weeks. I'd like to do the run on January 4th. Thanks in advance for your advice.

If you’ve got you’re heart set on using a specific plan you can hold off on starting the specifics of the plan until you get to the appropriate point for it to coincide with the dates you’re looking for; but there’s really not any reason to “stop the training and wait” unless I’m missing something. Use the extra 4 weeks to build toward your plan and make sure you’re prepared for it.

If you are okay with it, I would stick to training and repeat the occasional week--or if life takes over/injury occurs, use the extra time as cushion.

Sometimes it can get boring to train for so log, but a little extra cushion is nice.

I had the same, I used a new app this year for the run weekend in Disneyland Paris. It came with a pre-programmed training for 16 weeks for a half marathon. In the weeks leading up to the 16-week mark, I just start building up to get to 5k. There is no disadvantage to already starting, there are advantages to start now.