Parks or Cruise (8 and 3 year old)

Oreillk

Earning My Ears
Hi,
I am so glad I found this forum. I am learning so much about the process of cruising that would have never been available when I was a child. Thank you for all of the information.

We are avid Disney Fans (Me more than my husband). We have been visiting the parks (WDW and DL) about every year and sometimes more than once a year since my ds was an infant (he is now 7). I thought it would be so cool to try out cruising and try it out with Disney but am concerned that my daughter will not be old enough to really enjoy it and perhaps we should spend the time at the parks. I am a teacher and the only time I could really do either is during Easter break.

So the plan was to do the 4 night DDream cruise April 17, 2011. Now I am getting nervous like I mentioned. My daughter would almost be 3 years and a few months old and my son would be 8. Would it be better to wait until she is nearly 4 and 1/2 and he is 9? I feel DS gets cheated if we do not go as he is so pumped about the cruise but I feel it might be better to have my daughter a little older and a little more independent so she can really enjoy the kids club and other events instead of being overwhelmed as a 3 year old. I am so so torn.

:confused3

What do you all think . . .wait or do it next year? If we do a cruise next year I might have to wait another few years until having the opportunity again. We vacation every year but not as elaborately. It though definitely is not a once in a lifetime thing.

Any input is appreciated!

A few years ago I cruised with extended family including a 4 1/2 year old, and his brother who had his 3 year birthday while cruising. And I would definitely recommend it to you, even at those young ages. The boys loved every minute of the cruise, and even now have great memories of it and can't wait to do it again. You will thoroghly enjoy it as well... it is a much more relaxing vaction than Disneyworld!