Need advice with Wide Angle Selection

DoleWhipDVC

Mouseketeer
I'm working on selecting a wide angle lens for my Canon D40. I am not a pro, but like taking nice captures and sharing them. After doing much research, I am becoming more and more confused due to all the specs and info such as distortion ratios, lighting problems (flares, etc) and have decided to make a purchase from the following choices:

Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5
Tokina AF 12-24 f/4 AT-X PRO DX
Sigma 10-20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM
Tamron SP AF 10-24mm f/3.5-4.5 II LD

I know all of them have pros and cons, but the Canon is priced at around $850, while the rest come in just under $500. If anyone has any insight into these various brands, I would love to hear it. I've been all over the internet looking at reviews.....does anyone have any bottom line real-world insight to share? I'm an amature hobbyist so don't necessarily need the best, but I don't want to invest in junk to save 300 bucks. Please help :confused3

My advice - don't worry so much. They're all fine lenses, and the differences between them are pretty small. Sure, one might be slightly sharper in center, one slightly better in the corners, one slightly better with flare, one slightly better at distortion control, one slightly faster max aperture...in all honesty, not one of them excels in every category - so they're all going to involve choosing an advantage or two and accepting a compromise or two.

I have been using a Tamron 10-24mm for years now, and thoroughly enjoy it - it's one of my favorite DSLR lenses, and is a definite favorite for Disney where I use it a ton. I ultimately picked it for the center sharpness, flare control, and decently fast aperture - but I'm also fairly confident I'd find myself happy and pretty much as capable had I gone with the Sigma 10-20, Tokina 11-16, or Sony 11-18, or any other. The ultra-wide angles are a lot of fun, and whatever small compromises each lens has you just learn to work around.