MyPoint howto question

tjkluse

Earning My Ears
I'm new to MyPoints and only have 500 points and would love to get more. I read the tupperware thread and saw this post. Can you explain what is meant by:

"What you want to do is mouse over them and look at what shows up in the box at the bottom of your browser (I'm using Internet Explorer, so I don't know how it works for other browsers). There should be a six digit number that shows up. You should also be able to see the number when you mouse over the text on the confirmation page that you need to click to get the points, if memory serves me correctly.

276837 is the one on the Shopping homepage."

How do you use that information to get points?
Thanks
tjkluse

Basically, there used to be a "sneaky" way where we could buy $1 e-gift certs on tupperware.com - a site where, if you shop through that "800 points" link, you get an automatic popup for 800 points after completing a transaction. Since there were several "800 points" banners all over MyPoints, some clever and kind folks on the board figured out that each banner has a unique award ID. Thus, even though the offer suggested you could get 800 points monthly with a purchase, some were able to get 800 points X 6 banners = 4800 points or even more.

Unfortunately, there is now more of a challenge to earn points this way. Tupperware now only sells e-gift certificates at a min of $10. Also, there seem to be fewer banners (though the ones that there are still have unique award IDs, which is what was meant by the paragraph you quoted from... eilonwy?)

However, you can still earn points from purchases through MyPoints with tupperware. I recently had success getting points from using e-gift certs to buy a small item (and paying the small balance with a visa). So I called that "double dipping" - I got points for buying those gc's and also for using them for a purchase.