Can you get a timeshare with no credit or bad credit?

LilMamiBella

DIS Veteran
I'm very interested in getting a Disney timeshare but we don't have any credit and/ or bad credit..We stayed in Daytona last year and was able to get a timeshare there but I'm not sure how Disney will be..does anyone know?

Probably, you may have to put more for the down payment but I think they work with you. Also DVC does not show up on you credit report...at least mine doesn't.

Joe in CT

I would recommend contacting DVC and discussing it with them. As stated above, you will probably require a larger than normal down payment. I would say between 20-30% cash down.

I review credit for a living (I am a Finance Director for a car dealer) and can tell you that many times people don't realize the exact status of their credit. Many times it is better than they describe it. Other times they tell you they have great credit, yet that's not the way it turns out!

It is my understanding that DVC is more flexible than most, as long as you can put a larger amount down if needed. Also, current income needed to repay the debt is a factor also.

If you stay with Disney annually, the DVC makes a great deal of sense..... Good Luck!

I asked that very question of my "guide". I was told in the 5 years that she has be working there, she has never seen anyone rejected. She did say that some people have to do come up with a larger down payment.

As mentioned before, they may require a higher downpayment. When we applied, I asked about this. I have very good credit, but my co-borrower had a bankruptcy five years ago (but had actually rebuilt his credit quite nicely since then). Our guide said that our application would either be accepted or rejected, if rejected it would most likely come back with a request to put more money down. We were going to do 20% down anyway and had no problems.