BRAND NEW CORONADO SPRINGS FAQ THREAD w/ PHOTOS (PART IV)

Discussion in 'Disney Resorts' started by Buzz2001, Dec 23, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Worfiedoodles

    Worfiedoodles DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    5,638
    Ok, I'm finally on the right thread, and I had my faxing question answered. Thanks so much to Buzz and Kat, who are fonts of information! I can't wait until dh sees the resort -- I think this is going to convince him to come back to WDW for a few days this summer, even though he says he only wants to go to Universal. I'm counting on the fabulous accommodations, incredible pool, and delicious cuisine to convince him he can handle a few days here!

    Maria
     
  2. Avatar

    DIS Sponsor The Walt Disney World Swan and Dolphin is located in the heart of the Walt Disney World Reosrt.

    to hide this advert.
  3. TINKERIFIC

    TINKERIFIC HOUSEHOLD CEO

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    462
    Just back from CSR 12/28 - 01/03. Building 8A - room 8220.

    PROS - Room is a great location. Close to pool, elevator, bus stop 4 (which is the 2nd to last stop going to the parks). Able to see HS NYE fireworks from window (which was great since we left Epcot early due to crowds & missed the midnight celebration). Great view of the beach/lake/el centro. Quesadillas at Pepper Market are wonderful!! Although we did not try it, the boats and surrey bikes looked like a lot of fun. Quiet resort, which amazed me considering the time of year. Beautiful grounds. Bus service was great, we never encountered standing room only when leaving the resort. There was never a lot of people at the park bus stops.

    CONS - Not one towel animal, roaches in room (one was hiding one a new clean towel...I found it when I opened it after taking a shower...I about fell in the tub!!!), Pepper market staff, with the exception of the managers, was much to be desired. On the evening of 12/29, there was an all out brawl between workers in front of guests!! An older gentlemen who worked in the pizza area was not wearing gloves and touching people/objects then touching food without hand washing, YUCK! Although good, Maya Grill is WAY WAY overpriced!!! One day we were in our rooms resting when mousekeeping came by. I asked if they could come back in about an hour because me kids were napping and they said no, it was now or wait until tomorrow.

    I would probably stay there again, but only during value season. Otherwise, it is overpriced. My DH is usually laid back about things, but he was very disappointed in this experience. He said he would never be back to CSR. IMO, that is ok because we brought back a present...a new home at AKV.
     
  4. KatMark

    KatMark DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    41,388
    Sorry about the roaches--but I guess that could happen anywhere (snakes at the Contemporary, etc.).

    That is uncalled for in the Pepper Market. I've often said that the only thing that upsets me about the CSR is some of the employees at Pepper Market. We just avoid them by taking our food to go 99% of the time.

    I'm glad you didn't let it ruin your trip and that you had a good time.
     
  5. Lilolvr

    Lilolvr DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    3,834
    Awesome! There is a rumor that they may change the Pepper Market and make it into a Boma style buffet. Not sure if it will happen though but the PM always seems to be hit or miss.

    FL is loaded with palmetto bugs (Fl roaches). It happens at all resorts.
     
  6. TINKERIFIC

    TINKERIFIC HOUSEHOLD CEO

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    462
    Here is Texas, it is not uncommon to see those big tree roaches. They often find their way inside. Now had this been the case at CSR, I would have just gone about my normal day, because I am used to that. On the other hand, they were those small roaches. Here in Texas that is a sign of filth and uncleanliness. That is what freaked me out. Anyone who lives in Texas will definately know what I am talking about.
     
  7. clemsondisneyfan

    clemsondisneyfan We are a family of 4 and we love to visit the Mous

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    237

    Well shoot. :sad1: I really wanted club level since that is how we always stay at hotels everywhere else. Once you get spoiled to that, it is hard to go back! :rolleyes: I love the resort, I would just prefer the 2nd freshening up of the rooms and having a private lounge with cold drinks and snacks is always nice - no matter where you stay!

    Thanks for forwarding me the info. Somehow I missed it. He does a fantastic job with that site!!

    Caroline :)
     
  8. Dazer22

    Dazer22 Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    346
    tlrotzoll, I know you had a great room in *B. Did you pay for a waterview room?
    Just trying to jusify my waterview room or swtich to standard. I really want a view of the lake. Thanks
     
  9. SueM in MN

    SueM in MN combining the teacups with a roller coaster Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 1999
    Messages:
    30,161
    You may want to look into getting her a wheelchair for long walks like this. Your insurance would probably cover most of the cost of it, as long as it is prescribed by a doctor.

    If you don't have a wheelchair and she has outgrown her stroller by your next trip, there are places where you can rent a special needs stroller (basically a larger sized stroller for kids who are too big for a regular sized one). Follow the link in my signature to the disABILITIES FAQs thread, and you will find information on renting special needs strollers in post #2 of that thread.
     
  10. Jazzygirl72

    Jazzygirl72 Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    192
    I haven't had a chance to get on here since I got back. We had a wonderful time last week and I'll probably do a post-trip report in that part of the forum because I have a lot to share, especially with the crowd levels being so high.
    As for the Coronado, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were put in Casitas 2, room 2440. I have some postives and cons about our stay.
    First off, it was beautiful. I felt like I'd been there before because of all the great pics people have posted. I actually didn't really take any of the resort because I can use the great ones on here for a scrapbook.
    One thing that kept resonating in my head was a comment someone said before I left about other peoples' pictures. She said that the pics were almost better than the actual thing. I have to say, I agree. I didn't see the Coronado in those pictures. Most of the reason for that is the side of the resort I was on and also the times of day. I didn't see the gorgeous night sights that so many post pics of. I'm not saying this as a negative, just an interesting observation. I am not sure if we had a rehabbed room but I think maybe we did because it looked just like some pics someone had posted of one. We had the dark wood and the sliding doors to the vanity area. The room was nice and clean and mousekeeping was good...nothing over the top and no towel animals (bummer)...but very good. We had a king bed and it was very comfy. We were closest to bus stop 2 which was great since it's the first stop.
    Here are some things that were a bummer to me about the resort. I didn't think the size would matter to me. I know it's the thing you either love or hate about it. Well, we were on the complete opposite side of the lake from the main pool and hot tub. We were so exhausted at the end of each day that we couldn't fathom WALKING any more to get over there. I know they have those golf cart things to bring you around but I didn't see them that often and they don't seem to have a consistent schedule. After standing and walking all day, the last thing we wanted was more of it. So I was really bummed out because I REALLY wanted to use the hot tub to help our sore muscles. I never made it over to that side of the resort at all.
    My biggest vice was it was very difficult to navigate up to our room. It took a couple of days to figure out the best way up there. First off, Casitas 2 is tucked behind and between Casitas 1 and 3. Our room was on the fourth floor and directly across the connector to Casitas 3. We had that lion fountain directly below us. The problem is that not every stairwell goes up to the fourth floor. So to actually get to our room, we had to go through Casitas 3 (when coming from El Centro). So after getting lost a few times, we figured out we couldn't follow the Casitas 2 signs/arrows. Coming from the bus stop, there was a stairwell at the end of our building near the quiet pool that went up to our floor. So that was fine. I don't lose my bearings easily and it was a bit aggitating to not get up to my room in a direct way.
    THings I loved about it: Pepper Market!! OMG this place is amazing. I couldn't and still cannot believe it was only a counter service credit. We ate there twice and both times my boyfriend got fish...first time salmon, second time tuna steaks. Both dishes were about $20 alone. Our lunches easily billed around $50 if we didn't have the dining plan. I wouldn't be surprised if they dropped this place from the dining plan as a counter service. It's a steal! If we didn't have the dining plan, I would think it a bit pricey, however they portions are large and quality is good. Loved it. :)
    Cafe Rix is great for breakfast. Good selection of baked goods and breakfast sandwiches.
    We enjoyed the Laguna Bar. It was a nice place to unwind at night and on our day off.
    THe size of the resort definitely made it feel like there weren't a lot of people there, even though I know it was booked. So that was nice. We saw lots of conventioneers there but we didnt' care. We actually met some interesting people at the bar from the UK. They were there for the National Country and International Dance Competition. LOL
    Buses were great. The longest ride was to MK and it was less than 9 minutes. I loved the ease of transportation and would definitely do it up again with the resort package, etc.
    Overall, we enjoyed our stay. If we stay there again, I'll definitely request a room on the hot tub side. Live and learn!
     
  11. KatMark

    KatMark DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    41,388

    Thanks for your review. Yep, Castias 2 is a long haul from the main pool. We always ask for Casitas 4 or 5--about an eight minute walk. We were in Casitas 3 in September but I couldn't complain because they upgraded us to a suite. :goodvibes Yes, you were one of the lucky ones--you got one of the rehabbed rooms. I hope you liked them...we can't wait to see them up close on our trip this year. Pepper Market is a love it or hate type place with most posters on here. I'm so glad you loved it--we really like it too.

    Thanks again for posting your thoughts--it is appreciated.
     
  12. MomPOM

    MomPOM DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    976
    Okay, I'm debating calling and seeing about getting Club Level for our stay at CSR. Those of you that have done it, do you really feel that it's worth it?
     
  13. KatMark

    KatMark DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    41,388
    MomPOM, Club Level has been put on hold. There were some glitches in the system and they are trying to rectify them before offering the Club Level.

    I've copied this from the 1st page of this thread (Buzz posted it late last week): LATEST UPDATE!!! - The opening of the club level rooms in cabana 9b may be on hold. Some people are reporting that they have been offered free upgrades to other concierge resorts for their club level reservations at CSR. Turns out the soft opening of CSR concierge rooms didn't go as planned and they will be revamping a bit. For the foreseeable future, CSR will only use the rooms as Business Club Level for convention groups that book those rooms. Otherwise they will be used for leisure guests but the lounge will not be open to them. So I don't know if foreseeable future means forever or until they straighten out the kinks since the concierge rooms didn't go as planned and they are going back to the drawing board.
     
  14. Buzz2001

    Buzz2001 CSR MAN!!

    Joined:
    May 14, 2000
    Messages:
    15,782
    I wouldn't switch to waterview. Its not worth the extra cost and there are not guarantees where you will end up. Just request the building you want.
     
  15. Dazer22

    Dazer22 Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    346
    Thanks so much. Just the words I needed to hear. When I fax in my room request for a room in the Cabanas is it too much to add "a room with a nice view" if I am reserved for a standard room?

    I know it should'nt matter, but.... I really do not want to be on the parking lot side.

    Those of you who are upgraded to waterview rooms. Is that something you nicely mention at check in or is it offered to you without asking?

    Thanks again. :)
     
  16. Buzz2001

    Buzz2001 CSR MAN!!

    Joined:
    May 14, 2000
    Messages:
    15,782
    You have a 50 / 50 chance. Cabana 8a and 9b do not have parking lot views. The back of 8a is woods and the back of 9b is a smaller lake.

    Cabana 8b and 9a may have some lot views.
     
  17. katieandemismom

    katieandemismom DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    534
    Thanks so much for the info! I'm keeping my fingers crossed that we'll make it one last trip in her Maclaren (with the 60 lb weight limit- we're at 53 lbs right now). I really need the stroller in the airport so if it's a no-go, we'll probably pick one up here locally.

    I can't imagine trying to Disney without one. Even though Miss Em looks typical (and can start her day keeping up with her big sis), the heat and the walking and excitement suck the energy out of her little body so quickly. Disney has been so accomodating. That's part of the reason I'm a fan for life!
     
  18. MomPOM

    MomPOM DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    976
    Just called Disney to see about Club Level and they said it wasn't available. Wonder what they are having to tweak. I hope I can at least get my 9B room request.
     
  19. Sherrkel

    Sherrkel Disney World Dreamer . . . Wish I Could Be At My H

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    803
    Our first stay in 2007 was in Cabana's 8a on the back side facing the wooded area (between the Rancho's section and Cabana's section).
    This was an excellect location :thumbsup2
    The pool and playground area is literally 1 minute away; bus stop #4 is also 1 minute walk behind the building. El Centro (check-in, Pepper Market, etc) is 5 minutes or less, depending on how fast you walk.
    We've requested this building again for next month's trip. Hope we get it!
     
  20. dr28326

    dr28326 She is our Princess!

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Messages:
    216
    What is the order of the bus stops at CSR going and coming from parks? I am using a ECV and would like to be at the first stop going and last stop coming back in order to not hold people up already on the bus. Trying to be KIND!
     
  21. Lilolvr

    Lilolvr DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    3,834
    Check out this post.

    http://www.disboards.com/showpost.php?p=29296466&postcount=9
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page