Questions about Resort Reservations

Lizzzys

Mouseketeer
Kind of a newbie here (haven't been to WDW since 2002, Waaaaay too long!) so I'm trying to get the code thing straight and have a couple of questions.

We are planning to come sometime in April and have a family of 5 and thus, our accommodations come in cheaper by staying at a moderate, than in a value suite. (I think Port Orleans came in the cheapest, at $1308 for 5 nights) We are also considering upgrading to the Wilderness Cabins, because they look so cool Do they go fast? Should I be securing a reservation for those now? Are discount codes open to the general public or just (recent) past visitors? If I secure a ressie now.... and a code becomes available.... will I easily be able to apply that discount to my current reservation or am I locked into the original price/plan? What kind of deposit does disney ask for and is that deposit fully refundable if we decide to make alternate arrangements? If we get a good enough deal we might just be able to swing a short cruise out of Port Canaveral as well!

One last thing, can I use my niece's AAA membership to secure a discount on our room, or will i have to show a card in my own name, upon arrival?

Thanks for helping to answer my questions!
Liz

The cheapest option is the POR, then the family suites, and finally the cabins. Do the cabins fill up quickly? That I don't know. I do know that if a code comes out for the family suites, you need to be quick to get it applied, because so few rooms are available. You can go ahead and book your room now, and watch for any codes (either PIN that are specifically for you... via mail or email or general public discounts). Once a code is out, you can call immediately and try to have it applied to your existing reservation.

I don't know the answer to your AAA question, so maybe someone else can help you there. ;)