How do you deal with disappointment?

1GoldenSun

DIS Veteran
I'm usually good at "looking on the bright side" and moving past small disappointments. But I'm currently experiencing a huge one that is just sitting on my chest and crushing the breath out of me.

I am middle-aged and went back to school to get a PhD in psychology. I've been working hard for over five years, but now it looks like I will need to leave the program at the masters' level. My memory is just not good enough anymore for me to be able to pass the comprehensive exams required before I can conduct a dissertation.

I keep telling myself that a Master's is better than nothing, but my goal was the PhD and that's not what I'm getting.

How have you dealt with major disappointments in your life? How do you move beyond failure?

Sorry to hear about not getting your PhD.

For me, it's pretty simple. Disappointment is part of life. So is failure, and success and happiness and everything in between. Not meeting your goal sucks, failure sucks, all those "negative" things suck. But they come with the territory of being a human. I take my failures and setbacks, accept them for what they are and move on. Same with successes. I enjoy them, am proud of them, but then I put them behind me and move on. I don't believe they happen for "a reason" or are part of "a plan" (I'm very strongly atheist), to me they're just part of life. Don't let it get you down. It's OK to be disappointed and sad. If this is how it's going to end (you not getting a PhD) then take a little time to process it and then continue with your life day by day.

And yes, a Masters' is something to be darn proud of.

I'm usually good at "looking on the bright side" and moving past small disappointments. But I'm currently experiencing a huge one that is just sitting on my chest and crushing the breath out of me.