Help with Washington, DC

sweetpea29488

DIS Veteran
We will be taking a trip to Washinton the last week of August. It's my first time there and I was hoping someone could help me. I know you can get Washington Monument tickets ahead of time. What else (as far as the mounuments, smithsonians (sp?), do you need tickets for and which can you get ahead of time?) Any information about site seeing in the area would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

No tickets needed for the other monuments or the Smithsonian. Enjoy!

If you want to tour the White House, you need to contact your representative ahead of time. It may already be too late, but it's worth a try.

All the Smithsonian museums are free as is the National Zoo.

Try to familiarize yourself with the Metro before you go. You can get a copy of the "map" online.

Oh, and there is a bag check when going into the museums, so travel as light as you can. It will be very hot and humid in August, so take some water with you. There are kiosks around the mall that sell drinks and such, but they are VERY expensive.

You almost always need 6 months notice for the White House tour. No biggie, though. You're not really missing all that much if you don't get to do that. We did it 25 years ago, and then again recently 2 years ago. HUGE difference. They've scaled it back so much that it's almost not worth the time.

The Holocaust Museum is certainly worth your time, and you can get tickets ahead of time. Seems like you can get them slightly cheaper if you order ahead of time.

Make sure to use the Metro. It'll be a huge time-saver for you. Don't even try to park near D.C. Not only is it nearly cost prohibitive, but it's a royal pain to park.

A word of advice: If you're interested in going to the National Archives, you want to get there before doors open. Last time I was there, they had a line a couple of blocks long.