Going into labor when you have a c-section scheduled?

Mrs. Charming

I'm not your entertainment, get a life.
I have a question, I was just couting down the days until my estimated c-section date of 38 weeks, and I was just curious... what happens if you go into labor before that? Has this happened to any of you?

It happened to me with my first. I went to the hospital and they decided to go ahead and do the c-section.

If your water breaks or you go into labor you need to call your physician and they will instruct you to go to the hospital. It is important to call them first if you can so he/she can notify the hospital you are coming. They will confirm you are in labor and proceed with the cesarean. There is a rare exception to this depending on the reason for your cesarean delivery. Hope all goes well for you. (I am a labor and delivery nurse)

I was induced with my first child, now 11 for 2 days, but eventually had a CS. Because I am a diabetic (a good one though!) my doctors automatically scheduled a CS with my second child, now 5. I felt funny the night before and couldn't seem to get comfortable, but didn't think anything about it. When I arrived at the hospital and they hooked up the fetal heart monitor the nurse gave me an odd look and asked me if I knew I was in labor! I had no idea! My doctor still performed the CS as scheduled-no problems! Best of luck to you and your family!

It happened to me, and it turned out great!

My first child was delivered by c-section, but that was after many hours of labor, a pitocin drip, pushing, several hours of pushing and three failed vacuum attempts (with no epidural :scared1:). It was exhausting, but I finally had my little baby boy :lovestruc