Feb or April 2022?

tara595

Earning My Ears
Hello! Looking to plan a trip for next year during President's week in February or April (the week after Easter - so April 16th - 23rd. Easter is the 17th.) My kids will be 5 and 7. I wish I can take them out of school to go but I'm a teacher so it's a big no-no.

I know the weather is beautiful in Feb. I'm just worried about snow preventing us from taking off on time and eating into our vacation. (we're coming from Long Island). But I know spring break can be very crowded.

any advice or suggestions is appreciated!

I used to travel very regularly for work out of Toronto. I can only remember once when my flight was delayed for more than 90 minutes for winter weather. It definitely happens, but the airports are generally well equipped to deal with snow. Pick a flight earlier in the day to reduce your chances of a big delay.

Agree, I think there is no need to be afraid of snow. As it was said airports are well equipped to deal with such weather, though there is no equipment to deal with crowds.

I would vote for your Feb date. The week of Presidents holiday can be busier, but probably not nearly as busy as what spring break/easter break will be.

I’ve been both President’s week and Easter week and honestly I think it’s a toss up. Both have their pros and cons.

Parks will be very busy at both times, less crowded Presidents week, but still very crowded. But if you go at Easter you may have more reliable pool weather if you want to take a break from the park crowds. February can be too chilly for swimming, if that’s important to your family.

When you say avoid Easter, do you mean the week before Easter or after? We'd be there after Easter.