Considering first trip to Universal. Starting to research...

Klayfish

DIS Veteran
Kids and I have been to WDW many, many times. However, we've never been to Universal. I was starting to plan a trip to WDW in September, but the costs are higher than I really want to spend right now. Universal seems a bit less expensive and it would be a new place to visit. I know next to nothing about it. I'm going to do research, but hopefully people with experience can chime in.

First, we're staying offsite. What's parking like? Easy to get to the parks from the parking lots?

Are you allowed to bring food in, like you can at WDW?

How long are the lines typically? Like I mentioned, we'd be going in mid-September.

If we've never been there and want to explore all 3 parks, how many days should we allow? In other words, is there nearly as much to see/do as there is at WDW?

Any other advice for an absolute newbie would be welcome! I'm not into Harry Potter at all...or Marvel for that matter...but I'd definitely be excited to just see it and experience it.

Not particularly, no. They feel the same way I do...even though they aren't "fans" of Harry Potter, they'd love to see it and experience it. I guess it's almost like Avatar in WDW. I've only seen part of the movie and wasn't into it, but I think the stuff at WDW is awesome! I've heard the Harry Potter things in Universal are amazing, so I'd love to see it.

Oh, I also wanted to figure out how their version of FP+ works, or any other tips/tricks to help avoid standing in lines (besides rope drop).

Step one- I know this is a Disney centric website but let's put aside the Disney comparisons. Do you ever go to any non-Disney parks? Local park, Six Flags...? Add those to your mix so it isn't just a compare and contrast on Disney vs Universal. :) Disney die hards tend to do best when they get excited just about experiencing something new- which it sounds like you are open to.