Any deals on resorts or do people actually pay full price?

deedubb

Always Grumpy, except when at Disney!
Please bear with me as I am a resort newbie. We have gone almost yearly for several years now but always stay offsite about 1 mile away where we can get a 3 bedroom with full kitchen, washer/dryer etc for about $170/night. Love being able to pack lightly and do laundry every night.

We just got back a couple of weeks ago and are now looking to book a trip over Xmas. It will be our first Xmas trip and I would like it to be different, so I'm looking at a resort, but the prices are nuts for a tiny little room. Would love to stay at the Contemporary so we can walk to MK, but $600+ a night (which means >800 Canadian) seems crazy to me. Do people actually pay these prices or is there some way to get better deals that I don't know about. Please help!

Look at the discount and codes forum for deals... Sometimes 25% off, free dining etc. However not many deals will be available during xmas

Have you looked into renting DVC points?

My husband and I just did this (we have a trip coming up in January). While I would NEVER pay rack rate for the Polynesian, we found that renting DVC points was MUCH more affordable!

When you say over Christmas, do you mean actual Christmas Day? I believe 12/24-1/1 usually have no general public discounts available. It's a super expensive time to go to WDW.

In October 2015- we did pay full price when we stayed in the CR with a TPV. We tried to get FD but there was no discounts that we could get for the CR. We were going anyway, so it did not matter.
Our last stay in January, we did get in on the Play, Stay and Dine so it was nice since we did not get it the last trip. We stayed at the Poly.

There are discounts available for about 360 days of the year (close to that at least). The days without a discount are very few.