Will online room check in Impact (pro/con) early room availability?

TigerLaw

DIS Veteran
We are going to be staying in a standard view room at Bay Lake next month. I am totally willing to trade the View we get for an earlier check-in time.

My question is this. I've never used online check in before and was wondering if this would help or hurt our chances to get into our room earlier than the normal 4 p.m. time?

thanks in advance for the help!

I would think online check in would help in this case, assuming this is a cash reservation. They have a box in the requests section that says something like I would like my room asap and my requests don't matter. You also put in an estimated arrival time as well, so you might get a room earlier. It may do nothing at all though for you.

I'm not sure if it's a coincidence but my room has always been ready early when I do online check in. Even DVC reservations.

This is one of the times where online check-in offers it's biggest benefit.
If you don't complete it, there are little chances of their knowing your arrival time or that you'd like a room ready early.
Completing online check-in will give you just about your only chance of letting them know both of these things.

It was that you could put in that you wanted a room ready over room requests during online check-in. But that feature doesn't work most of the time now, since you have to enter at least 1 room request in order to have the ready early box show up.

Now, I think they sort of default to a room ready early if possible for everyone. At least that's been my experience. If you enter that you will be arriving via ME, they automatically use that as your arrival time. If you don't enter ME info the option to enter a time remains available during the online check-in process. In the times we having entered flight info (such as when we are transferring from another resort) then I always use 8:30 as my arrival time.