Training in the Snow?

WIFriendofFigment

Earning My Ears
This is my first year preparing for a winter half. I've run in the snow before, but it's been more on an "if I feel like it" basis rather than on a training schedule. How do you adjust your training plans for snowy runs? My plan is by miles, but 6.5 on dry pavement is so not the the same as in the icy mess I trudged through this morning. I do have the option to run on a treadmill, but I don't want to train exclusively there. Any advice would be appreciated! Thanks!

I'm no runner but I have been walking 2.5 miles almost every day since April and the past few days have been in the snow and cold.
I have traction things I put on my shoes and it makes it much easier to briskly walk and do a tiny bit of jogging.
Hopefully someone else will be able to help more.
Good luck!

You don't have to exclusively use a treadmill, but on days when it is icy or it has just snowed, I would use it (if you are in an area where you have it daily, then you may just be stuck). I personally don't like running in the cold, so winter months I do a lot of treadmill and then bundle up and head out only on relatively warm days (days above freezing) so it's not a huge deal for me.

I live in Pittsburgh, so we get our fair share of snow and ice. When there is snow and ice on the roads, I try to keep the runs as flat as possible. If you live in an area that has ALOT of snow, check out your local running store. There are items that you can put over your shoes (I believe they are called Yaktrax...or something like that) that you help run in the snow and ice. It has to be totally covered though or else it may be more difficult to run in them when you hit cleared pavement.