Total noob here - please help a mom out!

OhanaMomma

Mouseketeer
Ok, I'm a DVC member and can plan a WDW vacation with my eyes closed. But this Universal thing has me searching ALL OVER the Internet for answers that just seem to elude me. Me, DH, and 2 DD's are staying at The Villas at The Grand Floridian from 8/24-8/31. I was hoping to take an Uber over to Universal for one of those days, but can't seem to get a price for the tickets online. I called and the agent (rude agent, I might add) just said to buy anytime tickets and wasn't helpful at all. When I said I can't find where to buy anytime tickets online, her response was "I don't know". When I search online, it always asks me for a date and August isnt available (greyed out)?
So, with that, I now hang my head down in shame and surrender to all you knowledgeable Universal gurus out there...and humbly ask you the following:
1) How do I buy a 1-day, 2 park ticket with EP online for Aug 27th?
2) Is it really cheaper to purchase hotel + tickets for ONE NIGHT than it is to simply buy tickets w/EP alone?
Thanks to anyone willing to indulge this mom. I'm sure the answer is out there, but I SWEAR I can't find it. I tried. Really. I did. :(

Firstly you need to find out the cheapest price you can buy a 1 day 2 park ticket is for your family.

Secondly the (probable costs, as they do fluctuate) of EP's for all of you.

Lastly, if the one night stay in a deluxe resort (Which will give you 2 days worth of EP) is cheaper then buying the 4 EP's as an add on, its a no brainer.

Check online crowd calenders for your dates, and if they are busy the EP's will be hugely expensive, but enough hunting round the web would give you idea of prices if Universal itself isnt forthcoming with the EP prices that far in advance, I may be wrong!

Spike. :)

Are the school holidays over at the end of August in Florida, if they are, you may (or probably wont) not need EP's at all.