Teachers-could I have a little advice?

KarenB

<font color=green>Goes to the mall and sniffs Yank
I am a fairly new teacher (my fourth year). I really need to find out how to leave some of my work at school. I have been bringing home SO much work and I am beginning to miss my own children. They are in high school and will be gone before I know it.

I feel so pressured with state and district testing. I feel the need to plan, replan, and create new lessons to make my teaching better. I don't waste my planning time as I try very hard to use it wisely. I know I am wwwaayyyyy too hard on myself. I think my biggest worry is that I started this career late in my life. Most of my veteran coworkers are my age. I feel since I am the same age as they are, I need to be as good as they are even though they have done this a lot longer than I have.

I understand that I will always need to bring some work home to be efficient, but I need to find a balance between work and home. I am hoping this feeling will pass since it is about a week before report cards are due and parent teacher conferences are scheduled.

Any suggestions?
Thanks!

What grade level are you teaching? I'm at the college level and both of my parents taught junior high. Whenever I started to feel swamped my mother would say "grade wholisticly" (I know I just butchered that spelling).

I also remember her at least occasionally throwing a pile of homework out - ungraded or just checked pass/fail.

I'm on year 12. Currently I am having a health issue and am supposed to remain calm, so I won't discuss testing and requirements at this time. ;)

However, as far as the work goes............do what needs must, but remember you don't have to grade EVERYTHING they write down. Try to do office paperwork as soon as it comes into your hands. I carry a pen and sign, date and fill in papers right there at the mail boxes.