- Jul 24, 2009
It's the same with banking. Their pond. Their rules.Ok, so my inquiry to DVC via email was answered but I did not pose the question correctly
Much like my mis stated lines above re: borrowing, the same applies here. I essentially asked if you borrow 20 points for a room, but then change and only need 15 points, what happens to the difference?
The answer is that any time points are borrowed, it is considered a final transaction and the points will remain in the use year into which they were borrowed.
For the record, I strongly disagree with that approach. For example, I book a 2BR bc there's no 1BR available. It costs me 20 more points. Then my wait list comes in and I get a 1BR for less points. I'm screwed with the extra points.
With my trips, in the banking/ borrowing, I've "lost" a total of five points over all the years combined. Once you learn the system, then just make it work for you. In the example you provided above, instead of losing 20 points, I would just do a split stay or try a new resort, room size, or view.