Points System Help

jmcross

One way to get tagged is to have a tag sale :)
i am new to purchasing DVC and am trying to understand the point system. If I purchase new, it is currently $171 a point. I am considering purchasing resale. Obviously the points would be less.
Here's what I don't understand.
If I purchase 100 points new how is that the same as 100 points resale?Each vacation uses points, right? I don't get how higher priced points are the same as lower priced points. Something doesn't make sense.
Can someone explain this to me?
I apologize in advance if this is a stupid and obvious question.

I bought bay lake when price per point was something like 109.

If I go to use our 160 points for a vacation, they spend just the same as someone else's newly purchased Copper Ridge points and the same as someone's first-day-of-OKW points.

Doesn't matter what money you spent to get them. The points spend the same when creating a vacation.

The points have the same value when using them to book. Disney has placed restrictions on perks and extras if you don't pay more and buy points from them. Many buy resale and save thousands of dollars and then by a small contract from Disney to get the discounts and perks.

:earsboy: Bill

Thanks for your reply!
So why not buy resale? I get that you lose perks and it can be a frustrating process overall. I also understand that you can buy 25 point add ons new to pick up the perks.
What am I missing?

Thanks for your reply!
So why not buy resale? I get that you lose perks and it can be a frustrating process overall. I also understand that you can buy 25 point add ons new to pick up the perks.
What am I missing?