Parenting and adult kids

Southernmiss

I am hazed everyday
I know another parenting thread. What could go wrong? šŸ¤£

Just thinking how there are tons of books on raising babies and toddlers, but not much after that.

And many of us wish they had books as the years and situations get tougher.

What would you want included in a book for parents of older kids, teens, young adults?

What precipitated this thread

Our 25 year old came home to have us help with his taxes. Because he was a college student, he was a rider on our taxes we filed until this year. He's started his first professional career as a pharmacist this year and it's time for him to do his own taxes.

He and I sat at the computer and got him started on filing his taxes. Once he was set up, I backed away and just answered questions. Dh, an auditor by profession, reviewed his forms before he hit send. (Thanks to the tax thread here, he used FreeTaxUSA.)

We also had good discussions about his budget and paying off student loans.

He is also considering moving from a shared apartment to one by himself so we discussed what he could afford based on that budget and making a list of wants, etc.

Next week, we will ride with our 24 year old to a different part of the country as he decides on which medical school to attend.

I realize many parents turn kids loose at 18, if not before, and don't look back.

But I think it's helpful to have others to bounce ideas off of and glad they trust us to be a part of their decisions.

There are parenting books out there, like "How to Talk So Your Kids Will Listen for Teens." We tend to get ADHD books to help our teenaged son.

Good to know. Maybe this will help other parents of teens.

And books on ADHD- any titles you would recommend?

One of our adult sons was recently diagnosed.