Not sure if this is a Tecchie question or not but...

kimmar067

TAGS?? It's all about the 'likes' now!
...I just sent a link for one of my threads to another DIS'er to show her the ongoing work being done on my house. Anyhoo, when we used the link, all the photos were gone, with a box in their place. So, I went to the host/website [photobucket] to see what the matter was about [the box said I needed to update]. It said that I could no longer 3rd party host unless I pay a monthly (or annual) FEE! WTH? I've been uploading my photos onto photobucket for almost 12 years now - is this the norm? What gets me is that I only found out by accident; they never even bothered to send me any kind of notification that this was coming down the pike.

Has this happened to anyone else? Any ideas of where I can store my photos. The whole purpose of uploading my photos in the first place was so that I could post them on the DIS....

They announced it about a month before the June 30th deadline. It is common for tech companies to offer a product for free, get people hooked, and then start charging for it. There are alternatives photo hosting sites that still allow 3rd party linking for free but I would expect most to follow photobucket's lead.

....I get that they want to make money for their services, but I'm not a 'newbie' to them....I only know of snapfish. Are you familiar with any alternative hosting sites?

i typically use imgur for forum sharing and such, but i dont think that would suit your purpose.

i just checked out google drive, it seems like you can share images too, but im not sure how extent you want it to be.

....I get that they want to make money for their services, but I'm not a 'newbie' to them....I only know of snapfish. Are you familiar with any alternative hosting sites?
I've used tinypic.com for photos in the past. But, now that the "new" format here allows drag & drop, I just use that for posting here.