Merchandisers - looking to mentor a newbie?

RichNKatHolly

DIS Veteran
If any of you merchandisers out there are interested in giving a newbie a little insight, please PM me. I've been doing mysteryshopping for almost a year now and found my best MS friend here on the Dis (some of the most generous and kind people on here).

I'm just starting out next week with one company and could use a little info. I'm a bit nervous!

Thanks so much for considering!! :love:

Can I ask you how you started mystery shopping? I am in Brooklyn and would love to do this! Thanks!

knovak said:
What product are you merchandising?

I will be straightening and restocking a certain brand of product (they didn't say which yet). Wish I knew more, but they haven't told me much yet as I just accepted the job yesterday.

are you going to be a regular employee or are you a contract worker? The difference is with a regular employee, you are paid by the company and they take out taxes. With a contract worker, they pay you a set fee or $ per hour and you are responsible for your taxes. Some people love being a contract worker because they write most of their expenses off on their taxes. (there is a lot more to the difference, this is just an example)

I would rather be a regular employee. You can still write off your expenses that aren't paid by the company such as milage, but they pay your taxes and you usually have a few benefits like 401K.