In the Kitchen with Donald

The first rise the instructions said to let it double in size. That I did but maybe it was a tiny bit more than double. I kept checking it and it was very slowly going and then bam it filled the bowl right to the top. It then said to punch it down and let it rise again but didn't say how much to let it rise. It went very fast and doubled in size again. Did I let that rise too much? I'm also wondering if rolling out the dough killed something or putting it in the fridge over night before baking.

I will try posting the link but it's on my phone so I'll have to do that later.

*****I'm not a professional baker by any stretch of the imagination (even though I did have a home baking business, that didn't involve yeast products!) these are just tips i developed over the last 5 years or so of making all of our bread prodcuts.
OK, I've checked out the recipe and read your comments -- I LOVE that type of recipe when I'm trying out a new one, it's nice to see what it SHOULD look like, my personal bug-bear is one of those stupid comments "don't over mix" How on earth do I know how much is too much?? Seeing what they mean helps!

I don't know as I have ever made anything with yeast that calls for a double rising before shaping, even when using Dry Active Yeast (that's the "normal" stuff that needs to get a head start with a bit of proofing, water & sugar) I only let it rise once, punch it down, shape it and let it do the second rising in the pan.

Rolling the dough didn't hurt the yeast, when I made my bread I handle it a ton, pulling, rolling, folding until it's a perfect roll shape and that's fine.

Putting dough into the fridge for the 2nd rising is also perfectly fine, it allows for you to have fresh baked goods for breakie without getting up at 4 to start the process!