AndyLL
DIS Veteran
- Joined
- Jan 10, 2008
- Messages
- 1,059
He was in the air. Not a catch at that point.
It also doesn't matter that one player had 2 hands on the ball and the other had 1 hand on the ball.
It doesn't matter that one player had the ball against his chest and the other didn't.
The rule doesn't say there are different degrees of 'control'.
I maybe take the 1st part of that back. If one of the players 'clearly' had control ( not just hands on the ball ) 1st and maintains control all the way then it is not a simultaneous catch.
That is from the NFL rule casebook:
http://www.nfl.com/rulebook
If the offensive player was touching th ball when the defensive player had 2 hands on the ball then what I typed does not apply.