Grandparents watching Grandkids

Just curious how many others of you are out there.

I am 62 and a retired school teacher. Have a real estate license and not using it currently other than to refer to agents who are working. My wife is still working and has another three or so years until she can consider retiring.

My current role is watching my three year old grandson. His mom, my daughter-in-law, does some cleaning during the day. My granddaughter is in first grade so she's out of the equation. Some weeks I watch him over 20 hours, others, not so much. I was a high school teacher, so my skills with 3 year olds are limited to my own two kids passing through that age....

I'm teaching him to eat poorly and leave the toilet seat up.

I'm told to treasure these times. I'm finding that hard right now...

What are some others' experiences?

LOL to the toilet seat up and junk food.
I don't get to be a "real" grandmother who spoils 'em and sends them home.
One of my granddaughters lives with us 3/4s of the year so I'm just a "boring" second mother.....the man never got the memo so indulges her as much as he can get away with;).

So daughter in law is stay at home mom but you still watch your grandson 20 hours a week sometimes? That seems like a lot. Guessing this is not what you want to do for retirement. I don't have any answers but wish you the best.

My mom still works but we have an agreement that she will watch the kids one weekend a month. We are very blessed to have that. My wife's parents are not the type to watch the kids longer than a movie date.

This is my experience and I love it, most days,lol.

I work full time then come home. 2 hours later, DD goes to her job and I watch dgd3.

I do have to ask just for clarification: the mom has your keep him so she can clean her house or does she have a side job cleaning?