Buying S5 today need advise

TwingleMum

DIS Veteran
I am going to buy the S5 today :banana: :cool1: I am a newbie who is dissatisfied with my old p&s so I'm moving up. My questions are:

1. Since I'm new I won't be buying any other lens yet until I'm more proficient but I'm concerned about the lousy lens cap that apparently falls off all the time. Any simple solutions???

2. I was thinking of buying the new Sanyo envelop rechargeables but I'm concerned b/c I read here that the higher the # the more power and I believe envelops are only 2000 Nimh as opposed to the higher 2600 or better.

3. Can I use the flash that comes with the camera (for like birthday cake shots and Christmas morning) or do I have to have an external flash??

I'm going to buy from Beachcamera I think.

Thanks for all the help ~ You Dis'er are the best :flower3:

I've had the S3 for about a year and I don't have a problem with the lens cap coming off - unless I cram the camera into my pocketbook. :teeth: I've read of it happening, but just want to let you know it doesn't always happen necessarily.

The built in flash is very strong and has a tendency to overexpose some indoor shots. There are ways you can adjust the flash settings if you find it's a problem and don't want to buy the external flash right away.

Good luck with your camera and have fun!

1. Since I'm new I won't be buying any other lens yet until I'm more proficient but I'm concerned about the lousy lens cap that apparently falls off all the time. Any simple solutions???

I've not read anything practical. Loose fitting lens caps have been a "hallmark" of the S-series since the beginning. They do fall off easily, but it's really not as bad as everyone makes it out to be.

2. I was thinking of buying the new Sanyo envelop rechargeables but I'm concerned b/c I read here that the higher the # the more power and I believe envelops are only 2000 Nimh as opposed to the higher 2600 or better.