Better Late Than Never-our Aulani adventure Aug 2014 UPDATED JFeb 11/15

alohamom

DIS Veteran
Hello everyone,

I am proud to say I am a Dis Veteran and have been posting and reading the DisBoards since 2003 and believe it or not, this is my very first trip report!
I decided to do one because I found so many of the Aulani trip reports helped me with my planning and I hope mine will in turn help others. I am also using it in the middle of January to re-live our wonderful family trip of August 2014 so come on along and check it out-Aulani was INCREDIBLE!

My hubby Mark and I were married on the Big Island in 94 and we try to go back to Hawaii every few years. On the off years we either do WDW or Disneyland. My kids grew up thinking they were Lilo and Stitch and love the islands as well.

This past summer marked our 20th wedding anniversary so we felt it was only fitting to celebrate in Hawaii. Some people questioned why we took the kids too and truthfully we just love being with them. Our daughter is 17 and will be off to University this coming fall and our son is 15 and who knows how much longer they will want to hang around with us! This probably wont be our last family vacation but you never know what life will bring so we decided we wanted them with us.

The itinerary was Aulani hotel room for 3 nights, Aulani DVC rental for 2, Big Island for a week and then back to Oahu for 3 nights at the Marriott Ko Olina Beach Resort.
Here is PART ONE

We left Toronto early in the morning on August 7th. The impending double hurricanes had given us some doubts but we had been through a Hawaiian hurricane before and knew that we just needed to get there before it made landfall. (gosh, that makes me sound like an intrepid explorer or something-the closest I have some to that is the Jungle Cruise!) This is Jacob with the ring pop, Breanna with the teddy bear and myself, Suzanne goofing around on the first leg of our flight which took us through Denver.