Why do you have the passion for camping at Fort Wilderness?

DavidLeaphart

Dis Railroad Man
From your viewpoint, what makes Fort Wilderness, "Fort Wilderness"? What is it about the resort that fires your passion? What is it that makes you want to pack up and go right now??

Lastly, ponder this one: If Fort Wilderness was not a Disney resort, not located at Disney World, would you still feel the passion to go there?

:woohoo: :wizard:

David

The first question: The ambience of FtW, which I've never experienced anywhere else.

The second question: Probably. I've just never heard of another CG that offers everything that FtW has (parks exlcuded). If you know of one - share it!!

If it were anywhere but Disney I would not go as the cost is way to high. I prefer state parks for my general camping. Fort Wilderness is the best private campground that we stay at.

Well-I'm a FL resident and I've lived here since 1978. I had only discovered (ok visited) FTW in 2004. It was always so expensive. My dh got 50% off resorts and a 5 days pass from WDW after the hurricances so that's when we decided to try it. After camping at State parks (which is what we usually do) and KOA's while traveling...The fort is the way to go. It cost just as much as some KOA's and RV resorts. You get more at the Fort for your money in my opinion. You are paying for the movie, campfire, the pool(s), the bus system, the fireworks, the electric water show, etc.-technically
It's the fun for the whole family-it's the "magic":wizard:, it's relaxing (we don't go into the parks). It's an adventure you can't get anywhere else....someone correct me if I'm wrong.
I wish I had experienced it earlier in life but luckily early enough for my kids to enjoy it. Yet, lucky enough to have it in my backyard.:cool1: