• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Corey Click Here

Surprising kids with trip - pros, cons, experiences??

Zoebear

Mouseketeer
We are going end of May and we're planning on waking the kids up and telling them we're going to Disney - get dressed !:cool1:
(We went last year and did the big countdown etc)

Anyone done this ? What were your experiences ?
General thoughts?

I know part of the holiday is the anticipation, but just for this one time we'd like it to be a big surprise..........:banana:

13 more days and I'm not longer the KOTS! So far DD hasn't a clue, though today she'll be wearing her customs for a photo shoot. I told her the outfits are for a client and since I'm a photographer, it seems realistic. ;)

When we went 2 years ago it was planned, talked about, etc. and it went well. We'll see how this one goes!

I could never keep that secret. I think a good part of the vacation is the weeks/months of anticipation, so I wouldn't want to deny my kids that fun. My DS4 has been on recon since we told him we're going - a full 6 months before we leave. He's going to be a seasoned Disney traveler before we even touch ground in Orlando. He's learning to read just by going through the guidebooks over and over with me or my husband.

Not to say that the look of excitement on your kids faces when you tell them you've got a plane to catch isn't going to be totally priceless! Enjoy!