Signed up for my 1st 1/2 marathon!!!

princess&her4princes

DIS Veteran
Hi Fellow Disers!!

I'm new to the W.I.S.H boards...been on DIS for quite awhile though. I'm a fairly new runner, have done 4 5ks (after completely couch to 5K last Spring), signed up to run the Race to Home Base 9k at Fenway next month (gulp!) and just signed up to do my 1st 1/2 marathon in October in Long Island! I'm loving running, have some hurdles with shin splints, trying to lose weight after having 3 babies and reclaim this body of mine. Any tips for running are always appreciated! Anyone else training for a 1/2 marathon?

Thanks for letting me join you on the W.I.S.H boards!!!:goodvibes

:welcome:

It's always good to have another person around. I'm finishing up my training to walk my first half marathon on May 16th. You might want to look at the event/competition sub-board listed at the top. It carries most of the race talk. Good luck. My best tip is start training early. I started my training a month before I needed to and having that cushion has really helped (especially during this winter). I have been able to get in a couple of more long run and was able to miss a long run without completely derailing my plans.

Kristen,Congrats on getting out there! It does become addicting so beware.I was also considering doing the Race to home Base but thought it would be tough to raise $1000.I am also in Mass.

As far as shin splints go- I have been there, stretch and use ice after every run, you may even need to stop for a while depending on how bad they are.Most important don't go to far or too fast too soon, the body likes to be eased into these things.

Great to see you around these boards- keep up the good work.Go to the journal part of the WISH board where you can keep track of your progress and others can offer support.

Linda

Congrats!!! yes, you will be hooked. Better go ahead and sign up for the 1/2 in January. :thumbsup2