New invisible disability challenges

utterrandomness

Mouseketeer
Hey all,

Sorry if this gets a little ranty, but I just needed to get this out in a forum where people have a chance of understanding. I am a 23 year old student diagnosed with ADHD and Asperger's Syndrome when I was a child (though my parents didn't disclose this to me until I was older - they're mild cases of both and I manage more or less okay, though change is extremely stressful for me). I'm an academic (getting a master's degree currently) so my social awkwardness is pretty "normal" for my surroundings and people are often surprised I have Asperger's rather than just being slightly odd due to my profession. I have challenges, but I have a great partner who is very patient and always willing to explain social situations to me if I need it and is willing to tell me if I'm screwing up.