Help with side dishes

southernbelle5672

DIS Veteran
I'm relatively new at cooking for me and DH (a couple of years) and I am just now feeling like I am making good dinners. However, I really have a lack of side dishes going on. We are going to try to go a whole month without eating out in order to become healthier and also to save money (you know, junk food is pretty addicting!!) so I would like for our meals to become more complete.

Again, we are trying to eat pretty healthy so I would like for most of the side dishes to be vegetables but a treat every now and then would be good too. :goodvibes

So, what are your favorite side dish recipes?

I think simple side dishes are the best. I often just steam a couple of vegetables (broccoli and asparagus, for example - I do the broccoli for 12 minutes from the time I turn on the heat, and add the asparagus to the pot for the last 5 minutes) and then drizzle some salad dressing over the top.

Salads are good with every meal.

Roasted veggies are good too - cut up carrots, onions, sweet potatoes, regular potatoes, red and green peppers and mushrooms. Mix in a large bowl with a little olive oil and seasoning - you can try different herbs and spices on them. (I like garlic.) Then roast for 45 minutes or so, sprinkle with salt and pepper, serve.

Teresa

One of the easiest, healthiest ways to fix veggies (potatoes, carrots, cubed eggplant, sliced zuchinni or yellow squash, asparagus, onions are some of my favorites) is to slice them and drizzle with a touch of olive oil, a sprinkling of sea salt and a grind or two of fresh pepper and bake @ 425 for about 15-20 minutes or until tender. If you have any fresh herbs, you may throw some on top of the veggies (I adore rosemary) You can mix up a few different veggies for a colorful side dish. Another thing that is a nice touch is to grate a little fresh parmesan on top before serving.