Doreen's New Way of Life (comments are welcome)

DoeWDW

I've been a bit naughty since you've been away
Hi All! I'm new to the WISH board but I'm up for the challenge!

I'm 39, with a hubby, 2 kids (DS 15 and DD 14), a mini dachshund, a house and a full time job.

Three years ago I lost 20 lbs by following Atkins and other low-carb plans. I did a great job of keeping most of it off until this past spring. I was diagnosed with depression and have been taking medication. Unfortunately, when I'm depressed, I don't make very good choices with food. Now I've gained back 10 of those 20 lbs.

So, I'm here to lose those 10 lbs again, help relieve my depression by eating right and exercising, and boost my self-confidence. I know this won't be easy, but few things in life worth doing are easy.

I wanted to start a journal so that I could record my ups and downs on my depression, weight loss and exercise goals. I don't mind having others read and post here, but I'll primarily be writing for me and trying to be brutally honest.

When others ask "how are you?" I tend to put on my happy face and act as if my life is just fine, even when I don't feel that way inside. Most people in my life say they would never guess I'm depressed, but that act takes so much energy to maintain! It's gotten to the point where I think I'm not honest even with myself about how I feel.

So, today is day 1! Breakfast was 2 sticks string cheese and macadamia nuts. Lunch was a salad with lots of ham & cheese on top for protein. I'm not sure what we'll have for dinner, but I'll make sure I eat low-carb. I've had LOTS of water so far today.

I want to get a pedometer and do the 10,000 steps program. You have the pedometer on all day and let it count all your steps and you try to get 10,000 steps each day. I have to get the pedometer SOON because I really feel like I need more exercise.

Enough for now!

:bounce: WELCOME TO WISH :bounce:

THANX FOR YOUR ENCOURAGEMENT ON MY JOURNAL.