Car insurance companies for a 24 year old?

TimNDansMom

DIS Veteran
DS24 is starting to look around for car insurance. We are hoping he waits until he is 25 and has saved more money but he says he needs a vehicle. He currently lives in Hamilton.

Any suggested insurance companies for someone his age?

My 21 year old son ... has insurance through TD. Pays $600 per year. Not bad .... for simple liability for a young guy.

My son says he's looking into taking over a 2009 or 2010 lease, so he'd need more than liability unfortunately. TD, his bank, quoted him $260/month!

When I was looking a couple of years ago I was a new driver over age 25 and the bank quotes were INSANE. I mean, I couldn't even believe it. I think RBC wanted close to $400/month.
I ended up using Dalton Timmis Insurance Group which is in Ancaster and they got me a good rate with Aviva.

BTW, I was living in Toronto at the time which accounts for the high rate... but STILL. My Aviva rate was less than half.

TD, Belair Direct, or Desjardins General are the three insurance companies most people I know in my age group are with.

we switched from statefarm to TD and they saved us hundreds on our car and house insurance and if you are part of a university or graduate you also get more of a discount

Try kanetix.ca they will give him approximate quotes.
Also too try a broker for a quote.
IF he takes higher deductibles that may help somewhat

I second AVIVA. We use them for work so I do get a discount. I have used them for years now. I use a subgroup called Northcity Insurance.

http://www.northcity.ca/

They are the leading insurance groups for ambulance fleet, and with that I get family and friends discount. I have probably been with them for 6 years. I started at $130 a month, I am currently at $100 a month. It's a phenominal rate. They are VERY competitive compared to other insurance companies. I have a low deductable as well.

Give them a look. Hope it helps:)