Cali Grill Review - Beware of your server!

lissawynn

I drink Coke with everything.<br><font color="deep
I've been dining at CG since 2002 when DH and I honeymooned in WDW. Every time I've been there our service has been outstanding. Last year Jamie set the bar for excellent service. He was wonderful and went above and beyond our expectations. This year, however, our service was terrible. I don't know if we were victims of the dining plan or if our server should be moved to another position in the vastness of WDW.
The food was delicious. I had the heirloom tomato app, oak fired filet, and chocolate and banana dessert. My sister had the chicken flatbread, pork tenderloin, and blueberry dessert. Dad had the fois gras, ribeye, and chocolate and cherries. Everyone enjoyed their food.
Our service was the killer of what should have been a wonderful dinner. From the moment Rachel came to our table, she just didn't deliver. We had two children at our table and she never offered us Goldfish for the kids. We had to ask several times until she brought them. She could have been bothered to offer us refills on our drinks. My sister and dad had a glass of wine while we were waiting to be seated. Being pregnant, I had a Coke while we waited. Again, was our server upset that we didn't order more drinks? We're not really drinkers, so one is our usual limit. My sister's son was going to be sharing our dinners and I ordered my son mashed potatoes. This is the best part of the evening. I clearly remember saying I would pay for his food OOP. That was not a problem, but when the check arrived, she charged us 2 TS credits for an order of mashed potatoes!