Would love some guidance on settings....

roxysmum123

DIS Veteran
Hello!

I'm new to photography and have only really had 2 trips to figure out my equipment, going again in a week and wondering if I can get some quick guidance....I have the basic Canon EOS Rebel T5 DSLR Camera with 18-55mm & 75-300mm lenses, wondering what you'd recommend for fireworks settings, and night time around the parks.....I've been doing alright with night time but I feel its still a little dark and shadowy. Example...I assume longer exposure time and use of tripod?

Also, in the photo below what could I have done differently to have the storm troopers in the back a little more out of focus? Thank you!

If you want the Stormtroopers out of focus, you probably need a lens with a larger aperture. You could try backing up and using your zoom, but I'm thinking they are too close for that to help much.

How are you approaching your night shots now? Honestly, your kit lens is probably not going to do that well for night shots without a tripod. Once again, a larger aperture lens would be really helpful.

For fireworks, your kit lens is fine, but you need a tripod.

First photo - Tripod (or something else stable. I've used tops of trashcans for example). ISO 100 or 200, f/8 or so, adjust shutter speed for exposure. Fireworks are same concept but most choose a 5-10 second exposure or use "bulb" to control the exposure.

Second photo - move the Stormtroopers back further :D. Actually, the obvious answer is to use the widest aperture - or you could use a longer focal length. The troopers are pretty close behind (especially the one on the left) so there is only so much you can do unless you decide to buy a 135mm 1.8.

Have a great trip!

Last edited: