Where do I begin?

MommyMissy

Mouseketeer
As a complete newbie to DW I am hoping someone can help me figure out where to start my research into all of our dining options for our trip in Oct. 2013. I have been reading the threads and looking at pictures but I still don't feel like I have a good grasp on all of the options. Any tips?

WDW has both sit-down meal restaurants (buffet and order off the menu types) and quick/counter service restaurants for you to choose from. The 4 major parks, resorts, and DTD have both types of restaurants. You can look at the menus here on the DIS or at allears. The Disney Food Blog and easywdw both also have very good information about the dining options. How I plan is I pick our park days first and then think about the dining options. Then I make our reservations at 180 day mark. In October, the Food and Wine festival will be happening at Epcot. That is a great time to go, imo.

As a complete newbie to DW I am hoping someone can help me figure out where to start my research into all of our dining options for our trip in Oct. 2013. I have been reading the threads and looking at pictures but I still don't feel like I have a good grasp on all of the options. Any tips?

Hey MommyMissy! I see you are going in October of 2013. Have you joined the DIS Facebook group for that time yet? If not, you can find the link in my signature. If you already have, feel free to also ask us about it and forgive me for not remembering (I would blame school starting)!

Now, as for your question. I use allears to get a feel of the menus at the dining locations. Always remember that the exact items can change, but it does give a good "feel" for what they will serve. We figure out a general schedule (x number of days at each park, a DTD day, how many days will be rope drops versus late nights, ect) and then we figure out our dining. We have our "must do" locations and fit those in and then I fill in from there.