What if one person doesn't live in Canada?

Well, I hope they accept OHIP cards, which actually prove residency, rather than citizenship. My kids are dual citizens and don't have Canadian passports.

Disneyland let us use our BCDLs so I would hope that their OHIP cards would be sufficient. Passports are a horrible proof of residency.

Well, I hope they accept OHIP cards, which actually prove residency, rather than citizenship. My kids are dual citizens and don't have Canadian passports.
How are you planning to cross the border? Are you driving across with birth certificates?

Passports are a horrible proof of residency.
They are but most people don't get the difference! For instance, I'm American and only hold a U.S. passport but I'm a Canadian resident. My SIL is Canadian but lives in the US and only holds a Canadian passport. So neither of us has a passport that matches our residency! In my case, I'm assuming my PR card would work ok to prove residency (I would probably have to explain it) but I didn't end up needing it since I got an AP for myself and my DH and kids are Canadian so they just used passports to prove residency (even though, as you pointed out, it actually only proves citizenship and not residency!)

How are you planning to cross the border? Are you driving across with birth certificates?

If they‘re dual citizens, I’m assuming that they are using passports - just not Canadian ones. Or birth certificates, but if they weren’t born in Canada, that doesn’t help.

If they‘re dual citizens, I’m assuming that they are using passports - just not Canadian ones. Or birth certificates, but if they weren’t born in Canada, that doesn’t help.
Your first guess is correct. They have US passports...which note their place of birth as Canada. :-)

Your first guess is correct. They have US passports...which note their place of birth as Canada. :-)